In every moment…

I knew it was coming.

It was only a matter of time.

I just didn’t expect it to come crashing in on me like it did.

Sitting in a room of about 30 expats, singing “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms” when all of a sudden, the steam engine of emotion comes barreling through.  There’s no stopping it.  No taming it.  No putting it off until later.

Anyone who has spent any extended time away from home and family knows what I’m talking about.  You hit that moment when it all sinks in.  For me it’s usually the smallest thing that sets it off, like a baby smiling at me from across the room.  And the only thing you can do is let it flow.  Live in your emotions for a moment.  Let it crash over you in waves until it subsides.  The processing can wait for later.

What did I do?  I escaped to outside and hid behind a car until I could compose myself a smidge.  Then I sat on the porch with my new boss and my leaky eyes and just was.  Sometimes you just have to be, you know?

Throughout my little episode (which I’m sure is only the first of many) one phrase spun round and round in my head…

“God is faithful in every moment.”

When my conscious mind finally caught up with my spirit, I realized the beauty of that phrase, which certainly came from no effort of my own.  God is faithful in every moment.

The moment of joy, being invited into the home of a new friend.

The moment of uncertainty, overwhelmed with emotion and fear.

And every moment in between.

Leave a Reply

