One of the Lucky Ones

When I first moved to Chicago, as we tried to figure out who we were and discern our callings and our place in life, the talk of the day among the early 20-something girls was “daddy issues.” Everyone seemed to have them… either our dads left us or they were present but not really part of our lives or something.

But when I think of my daddy issues…

He always loved me fiercely.

He knew how to be strong but was equally soft and tender.

He pushed me hard but made sure I knew he was always on my side.

He let me question and push and test my own boundaries.

He protected me when I needed protecting but let me experience life as I needed to.

He was the guiding hand that let me figure things out on my own.  Even if I sometimes chose the harder way.

Today I am thankful for my daddy.  I am thankful for the certainty that no matter how far away from home I go, he will always be right behind me pushing me, supporting me, loving me, praying for me. I am thankful that I am one of the lucky few who can look back over my life and see the constant, loving influence of my father and of my Heavenly Father working through my daddy.

You know, it’s really not luck at all.  I’ve been blessed.  With an extraordinary gift.

Happy birthday, Daddy.  I love you.

Image

Oh yeah… and we’re hand twins!

One thought on “One of the Lucky Ones

Leave a Reply

