28

I decided my birthday would be a good time to return to the blog.  In recognition of my 28th year, I thought I would post 28 things you may or may not know about me. It has taken me 2 full days to think of these, the reason I’m posting the day after my birthday instead of on my birthday.  Oh well, on with the list…

  1. My favorite color is blue.
  2. I recently developed a love of kale.
  3. I’m a ridiculous procrastinator.
  4. I like making things by hand, particularly baking bread, knitting, and sewing. My next goal is to learn to quilt.
  5. I have cracked my knuckles since I was a kid and have tried at least once a year to quit. Apparently, I even crack them while I sleep.
  6. I am always deeply affected by celebrity divorces. To a ridiculous, irrational level. I will think about it for weeks.  Seriously, I think I need help.
  7. When I was a kid my dream was to be an Olympic synchronized swimmer.  I would make up routines, which I would perform in our backyard pool while I sang the accompanying music.  I’m hopeful the incriminating videos were destroyed in my parents’ house fire.
  8. For the life of me, I cannot figure out how to make Rice Crispy treats.  According to the most recent Rice Crispy commercials, this ineptitude will make me a bad mother.
  9. I’m a reluctant, semi-closeted Twilight fan. I blame this on my last housemate and my sister-in-law. I had never even heard of Twilight until just before the third movie came out last summer, then managed to see all three movies and read all four books in less than two weeks.  And I will be seeing the next two movies.  Shameful.
  10. It’s quite possible that I am addicted to filing my fingernails.
  11. I am definitely addicted to coffee and sweet tea.
  12. My favorite movies are: Pretty Woman, Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, Pride and Prejudice, and The Godfather Trilogy.  I will stop whatever I’m doing if I realize any of them is on tv.  Even if it’s only the last 5 minutes.
  13. Despite years of trying, I have never learned to do a cartwheel.
  14. I love to cook and bake bread (and do a pretty decent job) but cannot bake sweets – cakes, cupcakes, and the like. They always turn out ugly and not especially tasty.  Unlike my bread, which is generally fabulous.
  15. I didn’t like avocados until I moved to California, now I love them.
  16. I have a twitter account that I’ve never used. I think my blog is attached to it and maybe I automatically tweet when I post a blog, but other than that I have no idea how to use it.
  17. I cannot whistle like a normal human being, but have my own special method of “whistling.”  The Godfather theme is my favorite song to “whistle.”
  18. I love scarves. I’d wear them every single day if I could.
  19. I found my first gray hair this year and took a picture of it (after removing it from my head, of course). I’m weird.
  20. One day, I will get a tattoo.  I have the design, I’m just waiting to discover the perfect location.  Thus far, the decision on where to put it has alluded me.
  21. My car has a name (Rolonda the Honda) and a motto (Roll on Rolonda).
  22. I want to live in a houseboat in Sausalito.
  23. I used to play the piano pretty well. I wish I still did.
  24. I stopped using shampoo about 5 years ago. Now I don’t use any chemicals on my hair or face (except mascara).
  25. I have said for many years that when I grow up I want to live in a house with dirt floors so I never have to mop or vacuum.  I’m still holding out hope.
  26. I have an irrational fear that when I kill a bug/spider/creepy-crawly, it’s family senses its death, either by their natural heightened buggy senses or some buggy sixth sense, and they will come together in a buggy army to avenge the death of their buggy brethren.  I literally can’t sleep at night after I kill bugs, for fear they will come get me.  No, I am not psychotic, I just have a very active imagination that sometimes gets a little carried away.
  27. I love Top Chef and Project Runway and wish I was skilled enough in either area to be on the showAnd I totally have a celebrity crush on Tom Colicchio.
  28. I truly think I should be vegetarian and maybe even vegan (but probably not).  It’s just such a difficult goal for a good southern girl like me.

Okay, so 28 random things about me to celebrate my 28th year.  The end.

2 thoughts on “28

  1. I love all of these things!! A couple of responses: 1. Yes, you do crack your knuckles in your sleep. 2. You’re welcome for the twilight love. 3. I can’t wear a scarf without thinking of you. In fact, anytime I wear jeans, a plain shirt, a cardi, and a scarf I think of you 4. I miss your whistling. 5. Don’t forget to add to your weird bug thing the irrational fear that they haunt you in your dreams.

Leave a Reply

