My Mama

Last week I wrote about my Daddy and since today is Mother’s Day, I figured I’d do a little post about my Mama.

While I’m like my Daddy in a lot of ways, I carry Debbie around with me everywhere I go.

I see her eyes when I look in the mirror…

But she also taught me how to look through those eyes.  To see beauty in the world.  To love those I see.  To know that God’s glory and blessings are everywhere.

When I’m worn out and just don’t wanna anymore, I feel her strength deep inside me…

(I’m not really sure why I thought our feet would be appropriate here…)

My Mama probably would deny it, but she has a fierce strength.  I think back to the time when my Daddy was sick and honestly, my memories are good, happy.  In the midst of certain tragedy and trauma, she held us together with her determined faith, constant prayers and overwhelming love.  John-Paul and I came out of that chapter of our family’s life relatively unscathed because of God’s grace and the gifts he has given our mother – strength, faith, love.  And fortunately for me, she passed those down, too.

And probably most importantly, I hear her voice in my head.

When I’m uncertain about a decision, I hear her… “when in doubt, don’t.”  When I can’t understand or see God’s answer, I hear her… “God always answers… sometimes yes, sometimes no, sometimes wait.”  Every single time I sit at a traffic light I hear her… “Red means no, green means go.”  (That little phrase has far more applications than one would think!)  When I’m scared or nervous or just in really bad traffic, I hear her simple prayer, “JesusJesusJesus.”  When I’m questioning where my life is going, I hear her quote her favorite verse, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord…”  When I’m really tired and maybe a little lonely, I lay in my bed and hear her singing… “We love you Becky, oh yes we do.  We love you Becky, there’s none like you.  When you’re not near us, we’re blue.  Oh Becky, we love you.”

This is just to say… I love you Mama, oh yes I do.

So the most important one might actually be this last one…

I inherited her love of Rod Stewart.

Please excuse our bedraggled state.  This was taken just after the concert. 

I ❤ him.  So much.  Almost as much as I love my Mama.  

2 thoughts on “My Mama

Leave a Reply

