Cravings…

Guess what’s under these towels…

Fresh Fruits and Veggies!

Who knew you could have such cravings for fresh produce, not cravings for particular produce, just produce.  Nothing in particular, anything will do.  I see a lot of produce on the side of the road, but it seems like I just can’t get enough, I don’t get enough.  I know this because my meals are primarily some combination of chicken, rice, daal, and naanWhen I pack lunch, it’s usually pb&j sammies and maybe some granola or nuts or leftovers from a dinner eaten out.  So not much by way of fruits and veggies.

The problem with produce here is that it must be cleaned, thoroughly.  Today we went to the grocery store and I picked up a few carrots and apples.  When we got back, Janelle set to cleaning everything.  The cleaning concoction she created looked somewhat like a bucket of beet juice (mmmm… beets!).  She instructed me to throw everything in and then she stirred with a big wooden spoon.  It kinda reminded me of the scene from Snow White where the witch brews the poison and the apple bobs to the top.

Anyway, I’ve got fresh, clean goodness to munch this week!

Leave a Reply

