An Indian 4th of July

Well, today is actually July 3rd… I guess that’s ok.  I didn’t really think about being out of the country over the 4th, much like I didn’t realize I would be gone over Father’s day.  But, there are several Americans living here in Kolkata, so one of the families threw a little party.  It was great fun and they have the most fabulous view from their balcony. 

Even though we’re quite literally on the other side of the world, it was much like an American celebration… hamburgers, potato salad, baked beans, chocolate cupcakes, watermelon, even red, white & blue Jello!  What’s more American than Jello?!  Granted, it did start melting pretty quick 🙂 

We played wii and as usual I was outstanding (please note the sarcasm). 

It was nice to be around a group of Americans for the day, even better that I didn’t really know most of them.  It’s so great hearing people’s stories.  One of the girls is even from Selma, AL, where I was born!  What are the chances of that?  However, it was bittersweet, as I realized over and over that I have only one week left.  Funny how being around Americans served as a constant reminder of my fast approaching departure. 

Enough rambling!  A few pictures…

The View
The Food
The Red, White, & Blue Jello
Leave a Reply

