Kolkata

So I’m here. I’ve been here for about three days. I promised in my last couple blogs that I would give a little more info about this whole Kolkata business, so I figure I should do that before I jump into any Kolkata specific blogs, in case there is anyone reading who doesn’t know what’s going on.

Where to begin… let’s go waaay back, shall we. I started at Fuller Seminary last summer, in case you’re really behind on your Beckology. I’m doing an MA in Intercultural Studies and one of my requirements is to complete a six week practicum. I am doing a summer internship with Project Rescue, who works with women and children in the red light districts. Full details of my assignment are still forthcoming, but it promises to be an amazing adventure!

I really do appreciate your prayers… as you can imagine, there is a lot of spiritual darkness. Hinduism is very prominent and we are near enough to a strong Muslim community that we hear the calls to prayer in our room, not to mention the spiritual forces at work in the world of sexual exploitation.

I’ll try to post as often as possible, but we don’t have internet in the guest house so there might be multiple postings all at once with big gaps in between… stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Kolkata

  1. So glad to hear from you!! Folks in class have been asking about whether you arrived or not, and I told them that I figured “no news is good news,” but it is still always nice to get news. I know how hard it can be to be “unplugged,” so I will pray that you will soon find a rhythm in being connected to the rest of the world. Meanwhile, enjoy being immersed there!! Praying with you… and sending hugs and greetings from Pasadena… week 10 just finished. 🙂
    Joy to you,
    Dez

Leave a Reply

