Weekend Update

So much has happened in the 3 months (!!!) since I last blogged that we’re gonna go for some bullet points.  In no particular order:

  • I’m coming to the end of my first year of seminary.  I actually started last summer before I moved to CA, so this is technically my 4th quarter even though I’ve only been here for 3.  Weird.
  • I was awarded the Great Commission Scholarship, worth $20,000.  Attached Strings:  I must spend 2 years in international ministry within 18 months of graduation; I must be a part of a cohort with the 5 other recipients.  Tough, I know.
  • Due to the above point, I am now planning my future in years instead of weeks… okay, days… okay, sometimes it’s hourly or even minute to minute.  The point is, I am now planning long-term and it feels strange.  I have a tentative 4 year plan.
  • I am headed to Kolkata/Calcutta for an internship with Project Rescue.  I could not be more excited about this opportunity.  I have admired David and Beth Grant and the work of this organization since I first heard of them in Chicago.  More on this later…
  • After the internship, I’m shooting over to Assam to visit a ministry called the Priscilla Centre.  I met the founder through one of my classes and she is an extremely gracious woman.  More on this later, too…
  • Sadly, my car got smooshed while it was parked on the street.  An 82 year old woman spilled some food and looked down to clean it up.  She crashed into my friend’s car and pushed the car 18 feet into the back of mine.  Please say a prayer for poor Rolanda (the Honda).  She is feeling very self-conscious about her squished up bottom and due to my time constraints and dealing with 3 insurance companies, I have had a difficult time scheduling her reconstructive surgery. 
  • I sewed my first piece of clothing!  It is a reversible wrap skirt that I made to take to India.  I love it and am very proud of my handy work.  Possibly more on this later…
  • As you probably already know, I make my own bread.  Well, I have now started making my own yogurt and granola as well.  It is yummy, easy, and super cheap.  And yummy.  Just don’t try to make yogurt out of almond milk… it looks like baby spit up.  No one wants to eat that. 
  • In addition to sewing the skirt, I have also been making mesh produce bags.  Fun, easy project.
  • A listing of the various places I have found Jesus… Greek Orthodox church for Easter, Jewish Chabad house, society of urban monks, Lacy Park (it’s my favorite park in Pasadena so far), beach, my car, a garden shop.  Isn’t it great that he just pops up wherever we are!
One thought on “Weekend Update

  1. Becky, Jesus shows up wherever YOU are, because Jesus is SO in you – a very definite, integral part of you and who you are. I see Jesus in you every time I see you. That is why I have peace about you going to Calcutta. I know He is going with you. He will actually go before you to the dangerous places and clear the way for you. I love you and I am so proud of you.

    Oh, and by the way, I want a picture of the skirt you made! I’m sure it’s lovely.

    Love you, honey…more than you know.

Leave a Reply

