Back to School!

So my time in Chicago is quickly coming to an end… quicker than I bargained for!  But before I go, I will be taking my first Fuller class, right here in good ol’ Chi-Town! 

When I was in Pasadena, I met Desiree Segura-April, who is one of the Children-at-Risk professors (and a really fabulous person, by the by).  She mentioned that she was bringing a group of students to Chicago this summer for a Children’s Spirituality Conference, which is being offered as an independent study class.  I didn’t think much of it until I got home… hmm, I live in Chicago, I’m going to be studying children at risk, why shouldn’t I take the class?  Oh yeah, I was accepted for the fall and this class is in the summer. 

What’s a girl to do? 

Well, this girl emailed and got the information to try and move my acceptance up a quarter.  Woo and Hoo!  I’m able to start this summer!  Unfortunately, that is the only class I’m taking, so I won’t have enough units to qualify for financial aid.  I guess I could try to find another class to take, but since I’m going to be galavanting all around this summer, I probably shouldn’t try to bite off too much.  My plate is already feeling a little crowded… 

I just can’t say how excited I am about this next step.  I am so ready (I think) to be back in the classroom, learning and discussing things that are relevant and important and on point with what I feel called to do. 

Being equipped for the call…  May’s memory verse says it well.

2 Samuel 22:32 – 35

For who is God besides the LORD? 
And who is the Rock except our God?

It is God who arms me with strength 
and makes my way perfect.

He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; 
he enables me to stand on the heights.

He trains my hands for battle; 
my arms can bend a bow of bronze

A time for being armed with strength… a time of learning to stand on the heights… a time of training my hands for battle. 

For surely this is a battle of epic proportions. 

2 thoughts on “Back to School!

  1. My heart is swollen with pride and full of pain at the same time! I am so proud that you are doing the things you feel God calling you to do. Taking the risks and reaching out beyond your limitations and trusting God for your provision and sustenance. I am proud because I know this is part of your growth and development into a strong and powerful woman for God. I am proud because your mother and I have tried to teach you that obedience to God is more important than anything, regardless.I am proud because you are living out your dreams and aspirations which many never get the opportunity to do. I am proud because you are truely a person for God at this time and in this place! I am proud because you have done everything with humility and grace with a beauty that reaches far beyond your physical attributes. I am proud of you!!!

    I feel the pain of seeing you rwaching further and further away from your mother and me. I knew one day these things would happen but it seems so soon. I feel the pain of not seeing you except on limited occassions. I feel pain because your mission will take you to far away places beyond my control to protect, help or intervene. I feel the pain not knowing how long between visits. I feel the pain of the cost God may require of you and I have no power over it. I feel the pain that you will risk your life for someone I have never met and don’t even know. I feel the pain!!!

    Even with the pain, I know the pride of you being in the center of His will! Remember, as will I, that the Will of God will never take you where the Grace of God cannot keep you!! I love you!

Leave a Reply

