Breathe

I went to the gym last night… I do not like the gym.  I got on a treadmill… I really do not like treadmills.  I ran… I hate running.

Despite my intense hatred, I ended up doing pretty well.  I ran 20 minutes, walked 10 and I didn’t die!  (Lindsey & Ashley, I know that’s not really a lot, but I felt rather accomplished 🙂 )  I even ran at a 3 incline and walked at a 6. 

I don’t like running because it makes me hurt ~ my teeth, my throat, my chest, my elbows.  I try to keep my jaw slack, my shoulders down, and my arms loose so I don’t tense up, but still, I hurt.  (Elbows… really?!)  I jiggle like a jello mannequin.  If I forget to wear my contacts, my glasses jostle and slide around.  On a treadmill, I get this terrible hamster-on-a-wheel feeling where life seems meaningless.  All in all,  not an experience I enjoy.

But eventually I settle into a rhythm and it’s not so bad.  I actually think my whole body goes numb and just keeps moving of it’s own accord!  During other cardio activities, I can watch tv, listen to my ipod, or at least think, not so with running.  When I run, I can do nothing but focus on my breathing ~ in, 2, 3, 4… out, 2, 3, 4.  If I lose my count, if my mind wanders even for a second, I start breathing erratically and panting like some deranged dog.  Not good.  So I have to close my eyes and focus on my breathing.  I become utterly dependent on each breath… that one breath in and out is all I can think of…

I wonder… what if I was as dependent on and focused on Jesus, the breath of life, as I run the race He has set before me?

One thought on “Breathe

  1. very well-written miss becky 🙂 and i am super proud of your running and walking! that is a BIG deal. if only we did focus that much on the breathe of life, amen.

Leave a Reply

